Deep Depth of Field – Entry 2

During one of the lectures we were shown the photographer Ansel Adams’ work. Adams’ landscape photography is breathtaking and the depth of field is so deep, the photos are so crisp and the contrast of light and dark is so pure and beautiful. Although I couldn’t capture as sharp and shocking landscape as Ansel Adams I went out to the Brecon Beacons to try and get some good landscape shots.

Hiking up Pen Y Fan I stopped to take pictures of the scenery trying to get the deepest depth of field possible, but also clear, like Ansel Adams. I only managed to get around 100 photos that day as the further up the mountain the harder it was to see through the mist as it wasn’t a clear day.

The settings used were:

  • F/22 – 1/30 sec – ISO -1600 (Although the image showed a deep depth of field this made the image grainy and I didn’t like how the photo turned out because of this)
  • F/9 – 1/60 sec – ISO  200
  • F/11 – 1/60 sec – ISO 200
  • F/10 – 1/60 sec – ISO 100  (With these three settings I found I got the same or similar results as the larger aperture image but with less grain. I prefer these images and there is a great depth of field in them)

 

Deep Depth of Field – Entry 2