Slow Shutter Speed – Entry 2

During one of the lectures we were introduced to Neutral Density filters; I didn’t have one when in London but I was still quite impressed with the results I got. I bought a variable ND filter to experiment with and get the shots that I wanted. As a fan of the Formula 1 photographer Vladimir Rys’ photography, I wanted to try and emanate from his work. His most established photography is Formula 1 but he has also taken pictures of other sports, for example this photo of the Olympic runners.

rio-2016-ingressos-atletismo-hoje_1

Photo credit: http://www.rio2016.com/en/news/rio-2016-olympic-games-tickets-online-sales-get-off-to-fast-start


 

I volunteered as the photographer for parkrun, my friend was organising the day’s event and I tagged along. As well as capturing the runners at high speed to get the shots they wanted me to catch; I used this opportunity to get some pictures using a slow shutter speed. It was my first time using the ND filter and so I had to take a few practise shots before getting any good results, I needed to find the right balance when altering the settings. Using a tripod I was able to get more than a dozen successful photos of the runners.

 

I’m rather fond of the way the bright colours are so visible against the subtle background, the motion is quite quirky and fascinating. Runners are an excellent subject to photograph as they all run differently and have unique patterns; there is no constant so the picture could never be the same twice. I like the randomness of it, there’s such a small window of time as they rush past that you’re never quite sure whether they got in the frame. Some are off centre and quite a lot are halfway out of shot as they run too quick for the camera. Overall I’m very pleased with what I got and will probably experiment at future parkrun events too.

The settings I used were mainly F/10 – ISO 800 and a switch between 1/8sec and 1/10 sec.

 

Slow Shutter Speed – Entry 2