Fast Shutter Speed – Entry 4

Instead of waiting for the rain to return, I attempted to recreate the scene from the morning after doing some research. I came across a website called 500px ISO which had a tutorial for water droplet photography; it suggested using a macro lens and external flash guns, both of which were not available to me. I tried to be resourceful and use what I could to get the best results.

Using an LED light to illuminate the area of focus, I dripped the water into the basin and attempted to capture the moment the single drop hit the surface of water. Overall I am quite happy with the results I got with the equipment I had available. I was amazed to see the images and what the camera could capture; it is something that the naked eye could never see.

The settings I used were a mix between these three:

F/5.6 – 1/1600 sec – ISO 12800

F/5.6 – 1/2000 sec – ISO 6400

F/5 – 1/2000 sec – ISO 6400

Fast Shutter Speed – Entry 4