Shallow Depth of Field – Entry 1

The first shooting exercise given was for a list of numerous composition techniques, a tester to see how much we know and what we would capture in the small space of time. Taken around Cardiff, the images appear to be an attempt at shallow depth of field. I knew nothing about aperture this day or which settings worked best.

The settings used  were a mix of these:

  • f/10 – 1/100 sec – ISO 400
  • f/11 – 1/100 sec – ISO 800
  • f/11 – 1/100 sec – ISO 100
  • f/9 – 1/200 sec – ISO 800

I had only purchased my Nikon D3300 a week prior to this shoot, so I didn’t have much knowledge of the cameras settings. I switched between manual and auto-focus and these are the results I got. Although rather amateur they do have the desired effect of shallow depth of field to some extent.

Shallow Depth of Field – Entry 1